2017 Dion Summerstown Forest Snowshoe Race – Results

16601933_1863575963912688_1825495501301629257_o (1)

A highly competitive field of snowshoe racers competed at today’s Dion Summerstown Forest Snowshoe Race. With key points on the line in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series, each place could make a big difference in the overall series standings.

Lisa Leskien of Cambridge continued to dominate the women’s series standings with another win at Summerstown over the 7.2km course. Leskien’s winning time was a fast 39:26. Second place went to Lynn Giroux of Cornwall in 46:24, followed by Liz Nurse of Cornwall in 48:51. Basia Vanderveer of Ottawa was the top female master runner (over 40 yrs) in a time of 50:57.

Local racer Rob Lefebvre of Williamstown won the mens race in the fastest time of the day in a time of 36:57. Benjamin Amann of Kingston was second in 37:41, followed by Gonzalo Espinosa of Trenton in 38:07. Christian Belair of Summerstown was the top master in a time of 38:17.

A 3.4km non-series race was also held with Bill Swinden of Cornwall crossing the finish line first in 24:16 and Lori Mitchell of Ottawa finishing first among women in 24:55.

Lisa Leskien has taken a commanding lead in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series women’s standings with a perfect score of 3, with wins in each of her 3 races. Gonzalo Espinosa currently leads the men’s series with 10 combined points in his top three races, followed by Greg Leskien with 17 points.

Thank you to race director Gilles Parisien and his incredible team of volunteers for organizing a great race on beautiful trails. Thanks as well goes out to all of the sponsors for supporting the event.

The next race in the Dion Ontario Snowshoe Running Series will be the Dion Ganaraska Forest Snowshoe Race held near Port Hope on February 19.

Race Results: 7.2km Series Race | 3.4km fun run  || Photo Gallery #1 | Photo Gallery #2


Speak Your Mind